My daughter has a peanut allergy and I MISS MAKING THIS AT HOME!!! *sob* I love peanuty goodness. I am stuck waiting for west african peanut soup to appear at work or occasionally eating peanut sauce on our stir fry line in the cafeteria. At least I am able to indulge when I am away from the child. Maybe, just maybe, one day she will grow out of that allergy. Here is my recipe for peanut sauce, for all of you to enjoy. Please call me if/when you make it and invite me over for a baby free dinner. That would be lovely.

I generally used this as a stir fry sauce at home. It is good to have on hand and it will keep in the fridge for a long time. Instead of buying a jar of stir fry or curry sauce or chicken marinade at the store you can quickly and easily make this at home. This sauce also works as a tasty marinade for chicken or pork. Season the meat with salt and pepper then smush it around in a bowl with some peanut sauce, a splash more soy sauce, and a little squirt of siracha. Throw that on the bbq this summer. Gold.  

Peanut Sauce

2 tbsp sesame oil

1/2 onion, minced

5 cloves garlic, minced

2 tbsp grated ginger

tsp rice wine vinegar

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 1/2 cup water

tbsp honey

1 cup smooth peanut butter

spice mixture:

tsp cumin

1/2 tsp cardamom

tsp corriander

1 dried birds eye chili (or tsp chili flakes)

1/2 tsp curry powder (optional)

tsp dried parsley

tsp dried basil

 

Wow. So I haven’t made this recipe in a while. Someone should let me know if it turns out delicious. I’ll be honest, it reads a little bit crazy to me but I’m still willing to roll with it. Bria – please make this sometime and let me know what happens. Thanks.

Cook onion until translucent, add garlic, ginger. Add spice mixture and coke over medium/low heat for a few minutes until the spices are quite fragrant. Add rice vinegar, soy and honey. Bring to a boil. Add water and allow to simmer for about 10 minutes. Remove from the heat and whisk in the peanut butter. Taste and adjust the season. Pour sauce into jars and let cool. Store in the fridge for up to one month.

Leave a Reply

