In 2005 when Dandelion Eatery opened up beside the Organza organic supermarket smack in the middle of confusion corner I was skeptical. An all organic restaurant? Do people really care? Are the enough products available to make that work? The concept of an all organic diet still seemed pretty extreme to me, let alone an all organic restaurant. Would their food be local at all or would it have to come from speciality organic farms scattered across North America? I had to check this business out. I was intrigued. I asked foodies and chefs I knew if they had tried the place and heard pretty good reviews. I had never heard of their chef (Ben Kramer, whom I now work for) but people were saying good things about the restaurant. I was on a hardcore breakfasting binge at the time and loved to go out, often alone, on my day off and indulge in a full breakfast. Having someone else cook a big breakfast for you to eat is just “the best”. I tried the breakfast at Dandelion and got totally hooked on their whole grain pancakes with maple syrup. Best. Thing. Ever. Going there for pancakes became my favorite thing to do each week. I politely tried a few other breakfast and lunch offerings but faithfully returned to the pancakes. Delicious! When they closed for breakfast and continued on with only (merely…..) lunch and dinner service I was devastated. I spent a few hours trying to duplicate their recipe and this is what I came up with. Probably way different from their recipe, but it has satisfied my whole grain pancake craving for years. Try it out. I bet you’ll be just as hooked as I am.

 (Mom, I am posting this recipe mostly for your quick and easy reference. I am pretty sure I have hand written you half a dozen copies already. So here you go:) 

whole grain pancakes

While it is best to make the batter a few hours in advance (to allow the oats to absorb the liquid) it is not totally necessary. Just remember that if you let the batter rest overnight you will probably need to add a bit more milk in the morning to thin it back out to a pourable consistency.

2 tbsp butter, melted

1 cup unbleached AP flour

1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1.5 tsp baking powder

tbsp sugar

2 tsp salt

450 mL milk** approximately

3 large free run eggs

1/3 cup quick oats

1/3 cup ground flax

1/4 cup wheat germ

dash cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla

Combine milk, eggs, vanilla and mix well. Combine all the dry ingredients. Add the dry to the wet and mix until fairly smooth. Add a little more milk if necessary to make the batter pourable.

Let sit, refrigerated, overnight if you are able.

Pour or ladle a small amount of batter into a hot buttered skillet and fry until bubbles appear throughout the surface of the pancake. I usually keep my burner on medium high for pancakes so that they cook through before they burn. You may have to fiddle around a wee bit to get the temperature just right. Flip and fry the other side for a few minutes. Cook some bacon in the oven while you are frying up these puppies. Heat up some blueberries with a sprinkle of sugar in a small pot. Get out the maple syrup. Call the family. Feast.

Leave a Reply

