Ok. So…. I am not that great at cooking rice at home. I don’t know what the deal is, but I will admit that I count the day I bought my rice cooker as one of the happiest days of my life. And yes, for the record, I do tend to make perfect rice at work. It’s just one of those things I always fuss with and ruin at home. I think maybe I’m slowing improving, or it could be that it is pretty hard to mess up a risotto.

I do love to eat rice though. Recently I have developed a hankering for some good ol’ Jambalaya. This is one of two rice based dishes that I remember my mom making when we were growing up (the other being Sweet and Spicy Cashew Chicken). I vaguely remember refusing to eat either of them and usually having pb and j on the rare nights when they were served. I was, of course, a horribly picky eater….. Sorry Mom.  

Anyway, I basically just made this recipe up, and I really hope it works out so that I can finally post something on my blog.

By the way, if you want to vegetarian-ize this recipe, just double the veggies, add some black beans instead of chorizo and see if you can find some shrimp flavoured gluten balls to toss in about halfway through cooking.

Chorizo and Shrimp Jambalaya

Olive oil

I chorizo sausage, skin removed and crumbled

1.5 cup frozen shrimp, peeled and deveined

1 cup short grain rice

1.5 cups water or stock

½ cup tomato juice

2 tomatoes, chopped up

½ onion, small dice

1 carrot, small dice

1 stalk celery, small dice

½ red bell pepper, small dice

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tsp thyme

2 Tsp oregano

Tbsp cayenne

Tbsp paprika

Pinch chilli flakes

Tsp chilli powder

Salt and pepper to taste

Hot sauce as you like

Peel the skin off one chorizo sausage. Crumble it up and put it all into a large heavy bottomed pot that has a lid. Chop up all your veggies and crank the heat under the pot to high. Add a good glug of olive oil. Once the sausage meat starts to sizzle dump in the veggies. Stir them up every so often and let them cook for about 7 minutes. Add all the spices and the rice. Stir everything up so that the rice is well coated in oil and spices. Let the rice and veggies and meat cook together for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Add the tomatoes, the water or stock, and the frozen shrimp. Season well with salt and pepper and give everything a good stir. Cover and leave the heat on high for a couple of minutes until the liquid starts to boil. Lift the lid up, stir once, put the lid on and turn the heat to medium low. Set your timer for 20 minutes and pour yourself a glass of wine. I think a pinot grigio would be lovely.

That’s the step I am at right now, except of course that I don’t have any pinot grigio and will have to settle for a gin and tonic. Which doesn’t really go at all.

And so we wait…….

And wait.

And ….. if only I could blog a waiting montage…..

And…

*Ding*!

Oh boy! It’s delicious and perfect! Yay!

Serve this mounded in a beautiful bowl and garnished with some fresh thyme leaves and/or parsley

This recipe will serve 4 with a little leftover for lunch the next day (or 2 if you pig out like me). If you want to switch it up a little you can always omit the shrimp and serve them skewered and grilled beside the rice. Round out the meal with corn on the cob, buttered green beans, and fresh crusty bread and you’ve got yourself a fine-looking dinner party. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

