I am not hugely fond of posting other people’s recipes on here, but this one I just want to share with the world. Every time I make this soup its goodness BLOWS MY MIND! Seriously, it is amazing. I suggest that anyone reading this immediately run to the store, buy the ingredients (if you don’t have them on hand) and then make this soup. It is a pretty straight forward recipe but the resulting flavors meld together so perfectly that I find it hard to pick out individual tastes within the broth. It is just …. perfect soup!

I am not entirely sure where this recipe comes from, so if anyone recognizes it please let me know the author to give props to. I was only given a photocopied page by a friend who turned me on to this little gem. Thank you Tray, my life will never be the same.

*note: I have edited this recipe very slightly. This is one of only a very few recipes that I actually follow. Where it calls for spaghettini I do tend to substitute rice noodles and I also cut them up with a few snips of the ol’ scissors after cooking them. I prefer eating this soup with a spoon. I also use whatever chicken I have on hand. Usually a few chicken legs get dropped into the pot after peeling the skin off of them. You could also use a turkey leg if you had one kicking around. ha. haha.

Asian Chicken Noodle Soup

Spaghettini is a good stand-in for Asian  noodles, but if you can find rice noodles, by all means use them here. Serve the soup in deep bowls with chopsticks or forks as well as spoons. Eat the noodles first and then drink the soup in the Asian manner. Or, to use a spoon only and eat everything together, break the pasta into small pieces before cooking.

Serves 4

1 Tbsp cooking oil

1 Tbsp sesame oil

1 onion, sliced

2 ribs celery, sliced on the bias

4 cloves garlic, green germ removed and slice very thinly

1″ piece fresh ginger, peeled and sliced very thinly

2 Tbsp chili powder

pinch dried red pepper flakes

1 1/2 L chicken stock

1 cup crushed tomatoes

1 1/2 lb boneless, skinless chicken thighs

3 Tbsp nam pla or nuoc mam (fish sauce)

1 tsp salt

1/2 lb spaghettini, cooked

1/2 head bok choy or green cabbage, sliced

juice of 2 limes

1. In a large heavy pot, heat up both oils over moderate heat. Add the onion, celery, garlic, ginger, chili powder, and red pepper flakes. Cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes.

2. Add the broth, tomatoes, chicken, fish sauce, salt and bring to a simmer. Reduce the heat and simmer until the chicken is just done, about 15 minutes. Remove the chicken; when it is cool enough to handle, cut it into bite-sized pieces. Continue cooking the soup for 15 minutes longer.

3. Add the bok choy or cabbage; bring back to a simmer. Cook until just done, about 5 minutes. Stir in lime juice. Devour.

** the recipe also calls for the addition of 1 cup cilantro leaves plus another 1/4 cup chopped cilantro to garnish. I don’t really enjoy cilantro, but if it’s your thing add the 1 cup of leaves after you add the broth. Garnish with the chopped leaves after portioning into individual bowls.

 

Leave a Reply

